President Obama Signs North Dakota Disaster Declaration

March 15, 2010

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of North Dakota and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe winter storm during the period of January 20-25, 2010.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm in the counties of Adams, Barnes, Billings, Bowman, Burke, Dickey, Dunn, Emmons, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger, Logan, McIntosh, McKenzie, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Oliver, Ransom, Renville, Sioux, Slope, Stark, Steele, and Walsh and the Standing Rock Indian Reservation.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and Tribes within the State.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Willie G. Nunn as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

For further information contact: FEMA (202) 646-3272.