Background on President Obama’s Fuel Efficiency Event Today

July 29, 2011

The President will deliver remarks at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C. announcing the next round of a coordinated national program to dramatically improve fuel efficiency and cut carbon pollution for cars and light-duty trucks for Model Years 2017 to 2025.

The President will be joined on-stage at the event by Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood, Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Lisa Jackson, several auto company executives and UAW President Bob King. These individuals have signed onto and been instrumental in achieving this historic agreement. The participating auto companies are also providing advanced technology vehicles to display at the event.

The President will speak to an audience of approximately 250 people including representatives from the auto companies, UAW employees, environmental leaders, union representatives and Members of Congress.  Thirteen companies will have representatives at the event, including Ford, GM, Chrysler, BMW, Honda, Hyundai, Jaguar/Land Rover, Kia, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Toyota and Volvo – which together account for over 90% of all vehicles sold in the United States.

Stage Participants
Dan Akerson, Chairman & CEO, GM
Alan Mulally, President and CEO, Ford
Sergio Marchionne, CEO, Chrysler
John Krafcik, President & CEO, Hyundai Motor America
Jim Lentz, President and COO, Toyota Motors Sales USA, Inc.
Josef Kerscher, President, BMW Manufacturing Co.
Andrew Goss, President, Jaguar Land Rover North America
Doug Speck, President & CEO, Volvo Cars North America
John Mendel, Executive Vice President, American Honda
Scott Becker, Senior Vice President, Administration and Finance, Nissan North America Inc.
James O’Sullivan, President & CEO, Mazda North American Operations
Bob King, President, UAW
Secretary Ray LaHood, Department of Transportation
Administrator Lisa Jackson, Environmental Protection Agency

Advanced Vehicles on Display
2012 Range Rover, Model “Evoque”
2012 Volvo S60 T5
2011 Nissan Leaf (plug-in electric vehicle)
2010 Toyota Plug-In Hybrid
2011 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
2012 Honda Civic Hybrid
2011 Ford F-150 4×4 with “EcoBOOST”
2011 Dodge Ram 4×4 SLT
2011 Chevy Cruz LTZ
2011 KIA Optima Hybrid

Congressional Members and Key Audience Members in Attendance
Representative Nancy Pelosi, D-CA, Democratic Leader
Representative John Dingell, D-MI
Representative Henry Waxman, D-CA
Representative Ed Markey, D-MA
Representative Dale Kildee, D-MI
Representative Sander Levin, D-MI
Representative Gary Peters, D-MI
Representative Tim Walberg, R-MI
Representative Hansen Clarke, D-MI
Tomas Loveless, Vice President Sales, Kia
Yoichi Yokozawa, CEO, Mitsubishi Motors North America